About Our Sisterhood     

Through a variety of philanthropic and social activities, Delta Theta Chi inspires its members to adopt important values such as leadership, empathy, and ambition, and to always strive for excellence.


Since 1920, members have upheld these values through philanthropy, character development, and solid relationship-building skills. Each chapter is actively involved in many events throughout the year, allowing them to create lifelong bonds and consistently give back to the community.


Non Progredi est Regredi
Not to be constantly going forward is to go backward


Delta Theta Chi Sorority was originally organized in 1920 in Chicago. Six of the seven charter members are known: Hope Barkley of Radcliff College, Cambridge, MA; Esther Cejnar of the University of Nebraska; Miriam Brewer of Northwestern University in Evanston, IL; Edith McKay of the University of Montana; Myrtle Raymond of the University of Nevada and Lela Scopes of the University of Chicago.

By 1930 the rapid growth of our Sorority warranted a national entity and the officers applied to the State of Delaware, where most sororities and fraternities are incorporated, for a state charter granting national privileges.

To establish Delta Theta Chi as a true Sorority rather than the National Association of Delta Theta Chi, the  Delaware charter was dissolved and under a special act of Congress in 1937, we were granted a Certificate of Incorporation. In 1938 the first meeting of the incorporators was held and the first National Executive Council was elected.

When World War II came along, we lost many chapters.  In 1953, there was a reorganization. Oklahoma chapters called the first National Convention in Enid, OK and Rose Richards was elected the first National President.

A new constitution was prepared by a committee and at the National Executive Council Meeting in 1954, the proposal was adopted that the United States be divided into seven Provinces as originally planned. A Trustee for each Province, the President, and Vice President would act as the National Executive Council (N.E.C.) and would be given the responsibility of conducting the affairs of the Sorority. The National Executive Secretary-Treasurer (N.E.S.T.) would be an ex-officio member of the Council and would be a paid employee. She could be, but need not be, a member of the Sorority.